They Speak: Richard Ibrahim

Introducing the ever intriguing Richard Ibrahim, the first of our contributors to bare all for the newest feature of this site, They Speak.

ST: How long have you been writing and/or creating artwork for and why?

R: I’ve been artistic since I was very young, mostly drawing and cartooning. I really started in photography when I studied it at uni, about five years ago. This is my first year of working professionally as a photographer. I find photography interesting and stimulating both as an art form and a career, mostly because of its style which is both unique and also widely different because of photography’s various forms and media, on both film and digital. As to my reason for being creative, I find it the most rewarding activity because art is really an act of creation, your creating something no matter what form or style you work in.

ST: The theme of Story To…, trains, is quite broad. How did you decide on your subject matter?

R: The first thing that came to my mind was trains themselves, and also train stations. I focused on taking images of the stations and tried to get different feels. For example, I felt the image of the ascending stairs evoked a sense of discovery and also loneliness.

ST: We will soon be planning the next edition of Story To…What would you like to see in there?

R: More content, and of different styles…possibly poetry, more illustrations, and more contributors to get a wider feel.

ST: What’s the best website you’ve visited in the last week?

R: ThinkGeek – a site that sells nerdy and geeky t-shirts, presumably made by nerds for nerds. Very funny designs and a must-see for any (even closet) nerds or anyone familiar with internet culture.

ST: Assuming the Australian government has a file on everyone in this country, what do you think they have on file about you?

R: I suppose records of my university degree and attempts at staging coup de’é-tats.

Richard Ibrahim, photographer and Story To... contributor

Richard Ibrahim, photographer and Story To... contributor

Visit Richard at his website or blog.

Leave a comment

Filed under Networking, News, They Speak

Leave a comment